Flying Ace limbers up for G1 Chairman’s Sprint Prize with soft trial

Flying Ace trails One For All to the line at Sha Tin today.

Bidding to give David Hall his first success in the G1 Chairman’s Sprint Prize (1200m) at Sha Tin on Sunday (28 April), Flying Ace cruised through a 1050m barrier trial this morning as the course and distance specialist prepared for the HK$22 million feature.

Pitted against only five rivals, Flying Ace settled close to the speed under Matthew Poon before finishing off sedately to cross the line in second place, five and three-quarter lengths behind One For All, who clocked 1m 02.08s.

With five wins and seven minor placings over Sha Tin’s 1200m course, Flying Ace impressed jockey Matthew Poon with this morning’s workout.

“He jumped quite fast today and travelled nice. I just gave him a very easy trial. The horse is happy and he pulled up well, so it’s good,” Poon said.

Zac Purton is chasing a third win on Flying Ace.
Zac Purton is chasing a third win on Flying Ace.

Rated 103, Flying Ace will bid to give Zac Purton his third Chairman’s Sprint Prize triumph after Ivictory (2018) and Lucky Sweynesse (2023).

A fast-finishing third behind Lucky Sweynesse in the G2 Sprint Cup (1200m) on 7 April, Flying Ace will be joined in Sunday’s speed test by stablemate Invincible Sage, who will be partnered by Hugh Bowman.

Hall, who has 30 winners so far this season, has previously had only one FWD Champions Day runner – Little Giant, who finished third to Beat The Clock in the 2019 Chairman’s Sprint Prize.

This Sunday’s field is headed by Group 1 winners California Spangle, Mad Cool, Victor The Winner and Little Brose, along with Lucky With You, Howdeepisyourlove, Sunrise Ronaldo, Mugen, Believing, Invincible Sage and Flying Ace.

Sunday’s meeting also features the appearances of Romantic Warrior, Massive Sovereign and Prognosis in the HK$28 million G1 FWD QEII Cup (2000m) and Golden Sixty, Voyage Bubble, Champagne Color and Galaxy Patch in the HK$22 million G1 FWD Champions Mile (1600m).

By Leo Schlink, HKJC

Author: iRace