Doubling of feature races and reinstatement of race series in the Singapore Racing Fixtures from April 2023 to March 2024


Singapore Turf Club Press Release

The Singapore Racing Fixtures from 1 April 2023 to 31 March 2024 have been released, with a total of 20 feature races, 10 more than the current racing season, and the reinstatement of four iconic race series.

Developed in close consultation with trainers and the racing community, the fixtures for the new racing season aims to elevate the sport of horse racing in Singapore by offering more feature races for runners.


“In our conversations with trainers, they have asked that we prioritise raising the quality of races and we have answered with the doubling of feature races and the return of popular race series. The revamped racing fixtures is particularly designed to bring greater prestige to the sport when runners have more feature races at their disposal. Race series takes the sport to a higher level by challenging the tenacity of champion horses and offering them additional impetus to excel.

“The new fixtures ensure a progressive pathway for our racehorses, and I am looking forward to how trainers will be building their racehorse profiles and strategies for the new racing season to take full advantage of the fixtures and series,” said Dayle Brown, Chief Racing Officer of the Singapore Turf Club (STC).

There will be 48 race meetings, slated as 37 Saturday meetings and 11 Sunday meetings, in which two meetings will fall on Public Holidays. The two meetings are held on a Saturday – 22 April 2023 (Group 2 EW Barker Trophy meeting on Hari Raya Puasa) and on a Sunday – 11 February 2024 (Group 3 Fortune Bowl meeting on second day of Chinese New Year) respectively.

Among the 48 race meetings, 23 meetings will feature 11 races each while 25 of them will have 12 races each. The 12-race meetings include all the 18 feature race meetings, the six meetings after the conclusion of Hong Kong’s 2022/2023 season (23 and 30 July, 6, 13, 20 and 27 August) and the penultimate meeting of the year on 25 November.

The last meeting of the year will conclude with the Group 3 Colonial Chief Stakes meeting on 2 December and the industry will then have a four-week break during the festive season, before kickstarting the 2024 season with the Group 3 New Year Cup meeting on 6 January.

Re-introduction of 10 feature races

Ten feature races will be re-introduced and added to the current line-up of 10 feature races.

While eight of the current feature races has been run this year, the Group 3 Merlion Trophy (1200m) and the Group 1 Raffles Cup (1600m) are slated to be run on 4 February and 25 March next year.

With the release of the new fixtures, both feature races will be run twice in 2023, with the second running of the Raffles Cup on 23 September and the Merlion Trophy on 28 October.

The second Raffles Cup will be held as the first leg of the reinstated Singapore Triple Crown series, while the second Merlion Trophy will still be run as a standalone sprint feature race.

Nine of the 10 feature races making a return on the new fixtures were discontinued in 2021 after the COVID-19 pandemic struck, except for the Group 3 Kranji Sprint (1200m), which was renamed the Group 3 Rocket Man Sprint (1200m) in 2017 in a move by STC to name races to honour past greats. The Rocket Man Sprint was last run in 2020 and will now return as another race alongside the Kranji Sprint.

Among the six Group 1 races, four group 2 races and 10 group 3 races to be held, the Group 1 Kranji Mile (1600m) and the Group 2 Singapore Guineas (1600m) will be run on the same day on 20 May while the Group 1 Singapore Derby (1800m) and the Group 3 Singapore Golden Horseshoe (1200m) will be held on 23 July.

The full list of feature races in contention for the April 2023 to March 2024 racing calendar is as follows:

Feature races G Distance/Track Prizemoney Date
1 Three-Year-Old Sprint 3 1200m (Turf) $110,000 8-Apr-23
2 EW Barker Trophy 2 1400m (Turf) $150,000 22-Apr-23
3 Three-Year-Old Classic 2 1400m (Turf) $150,000 29-Apr-23
4 Kranji Mile 1 1600m (Turf) $1,000,000 20-May-23
5 Singapore Guineas 2 1600m (Turf) $150,000 20-May-23
6 Kranji Sprint 3 1200m (Turf) $110,000 3-Jun-23
7 Silver Bowl 3 1400m (Turf) $110,000 11-Jun-23
8 Stewards’ Cup 2 1600m (Turf) $150,000 2-Jul-23
9 Singapore Derby 1 1800m (Turf) $400,000 23-Jul-23
10 Golden Horseshoe 3 1200m (Turf) $110,000 23-Jul-23
11 Rocket Man Sprint 3 1200m (Turf) $110,000 6-Aug-23
12 Lion City Cup 1 1200m (Turf) $300,000 27-Aug-23
13 Raffles Cup 1 1600m (Turf) $300,000 23-Sep-23
14 Queen Elizabeth II Cup 1 1800m (Turf) $300,000 14-Oct-23
15 Merlion Trophy 3 1200m (Poly) $110,000 28-Oct-23
16 Singapore Gold Cup 1 2000m (Turf) $1,000,000 11-Nov-23
17 Colonial Chief Stakes 3 1700m (Poly) $110,000 2-Dec-23
18 New Year Cup 3 1200m (Poly) $110,000 6-Jan-24
19 Fortune Bowl 3 1400m (Turf) $110,000 11-Feb-24
20 Committee’s Prize 3 1600m (Turf) $110,000 9-Mar-24


Reinstatement of four race series

Four race series will be brought back in the 23/24 racing season, namely the Singapore Triple Crown series, the Singapore Four-Year-Old Challenge series, the Singapore Three-Year-Old Challenge series and the newly named STC Super Sprint series, which replaces the former Singapore Sprint Series that was discontinued in 2019.

All four race series comprise of three races each. The Singapore Three-Year-Old Challenge series will be the first of the race series to be run in the first half of 2023. It is made up of the Group 3 Singapore Three-Year-Old Sprint (1200m) and the Group 2 Singapore Three-Year-Old Classic (1400m), with both legs held in April, as well as the resumption the Group 2 Singapore Guineas (1600m), which will be run in May as the third and final leg.

Next up, the Singapore Four-Year-Old Challenge series will see the Group 3 Silver Bowl (1400m) run in June, followed by the Group 2 Stewards’ Cup (1600m) and culminate with the Group 1 Singapore Derby (1800m). Both races will be run in July.

The STC Super Sprint series will have the Group 3 Kranji Sprint (1200m) run as the first leg in June, the Group 3 Rocket Man Sprint (1200m) as the second leg and the Group 1 Lion City Cup (1200m) as the third leg, both set to be held in August.

Towards the later half of the season, the Group 1 Raffles Cup (1600m), the Group 1 Queen Elizabeth II Cup (1800m) and the Group 1 Singapore Gold Cup (2000m) that make up the three legs of the Singapore Triple Crown series will be run in September, October and November respectively.

For the STC Super Sprint and the Singapore Triple Crown series, the winning owners of the horses that make a clean sweep of all three legs of each series will be awarded a bonus prizemoney of $100,000 each.

To view the racing fixtures for April 2023 to March 2024, click here.